Testimonials

Reviews

Healthy Options Web Site

Janet Matthews, Dip ION – March 2013

Read Janet's recent book review and blog post on 'Candida Can Be Fun!' here:

http://www.your-healthy-options.com/how-can-candida-be-fun

http://www.your-healthy-options.com/book-reviews/candida-can-be-fun

MCS Aware Magazine - Winter 2012

Article and Christmas Recipe December 2012

Read my article ' MCS and Candida - What is that smell?!' and enjoy my Roast Turkey with Lemon Gravy & Sesame Seed Parsnips recipe.  Remember - it doesn't have to be Christmas to enjoy turkey!

Click here to read

Sally Duffin, Nutritional Therapist

Book Review December 2012

Many thanks to Sally at Nutrition in York for her book review contribution to her blog at: http://www.nutritioninyork.co.uk

http://www.nutritioninyork.co.uk/candida-can-be-fun-thanks-to-rebecca/

Shivani Fox
Radio Broadcaster & Producer at BCfm Radio (93.2fm)

Book Review December 2012

I would like to say a big thank you for my glowing book review from Shivani.  Tune in to BCfm Radio on 4th January to hear my radio interview with her.

http://shivanifox.wordpress.com/book-reviews/

Patricia Peat (RGN Dip PallC Dip Pall Med Founder of Cancer Options), Specialist in Cancer Consultancy

Book Review August 2012

Candida Can Be Fun!  A Survival Guide for 'Yeasties'

Far more than just a recipe book for yeast-free diet, Candida Can Be Fun! is the most comprehensive guide to dealing with the impact of yeast on our daily health published.

A great guide to the subject, clearly detailing how to approach it. You will be walked through all the best food types, what to avoid, how to introduce these into your diet and a shopping guide for products. Following this is 100 beautifully illustrated recipes, well explained, easily sourceable and delicious. Candida Can Be Fun! could be a book that is a blueprint for anyone wishing to avoid ill-health.  For people with yeast intolerances it is a must!

Andrea Baines, Founder of Holistic Network Ireland

Book Review June 2012

'Candida Can Be Fun!' has reached Irish shores and I would like to thank Andrea for this glowing review and for spreading the word in Ireland.

http://holisticnetworkireland.com/blog/candida-can-be-fun-by-rebecca-richardson-recipe-book-review/

Shirley Briars, Nutritional Therapist at Shirley Briars Nutrition

Book Review May 2012

Rebecca gives a very personal and honest account of her experience of Candida.  It is written with warmth and humour and contains a wealth of helpful information and advice for anyone struggling to come to terms with the condition.  The recipes look delicious and are well presented and easy to follow.  I think this book is a must have "bible" for Candida sufferers and will make the Candida diet not only accessible but appealing!  When faced with what appears to be an enormous amount of restricted foods, this book is a revelation of the wonderful array of foods that can still be eaten and turned into delicious meals.  The recipes are also suitable for anyone looking to reduce wheat, gluten, dairy and sugar in their diets and I look forward to recommending it to clients in my practice and trying many of the recipes myself.  Thank you Rebecca for a wonderful resource.

http://www.bant.org.uk/bant/getPractitioner?id=41385

Munch for Health

Book Review March 2012

A special thank you to Chloe at Munch For Health for her fantastic review of 'Candida Can Be Fun!' I am especially delighted that Chloe agreed to do this as she too is a survivor of Candida, so therefore knows what she is talking about!

http://munchforhealth.com/2012/03/09/book-review-candida-can-be-fun-by-rebecca-richardson/

Institute of Optimum Nutrition (ION)

Review Winter 2011

Whilst written with the Candida sufferer in mind, this cookbook is in fact a useful aid for anyone with dietary restrictions or food intolerances. The book provides 100 savoury recipes and easy meal ideas that are wheat-, gluten-, dairy- and sugar-free. It includes family favourites such as fish pie, spaghetti bolognese and shepherd's pie, as well as more exotic dishes, such as rhubarb and spinach curry, vegetarian paella and tabbouleh. Each recipe is pictured and the methods are easy to follow. There is also a useful chapter on suppliers of the brands used in the book, making it easy for the reader to find the exact ingredients.

Download PDF

ARCH - Association of Registered Colon Hydrotherapists

Review December 2011

http://www.colonic-association.org/index.php?option=com_docman&Itemid=26

Positive Health Online

http://www.positivehealth.com/review/candida-can-be-fun-a-survival-guide-for-yeasties

National Candida Society

Book Review: Candida Can Be Fun! by Rebecca Richardson

(2011) ISBN: 978-0-948808-14-2
Self-published.  £19.99 (including P+P)
Available from: www.candidacanbefun.co.uk

This is an expensive recipe book but it is 150 pages, A4 size, very glossy with coloured photographs of the meals on every page, so it does have a luxurious feel to it. It contains 100 “delicious and nutritious savoury recipes and easy meals ideas to help you on your road to recovery”.

Rebecca is an experienced candida sufferer, and Katherine Dempsey, a qualified Nutritional Consultant and Reflexologist, collaborated with her. There are a couple of short chapters on what foods to eat or avoid, sourcing foods, useful websites etc., but 90% of the book is dedicated to the recipes. Here’s a cross-section of recipes: Asian Vegetable Salad / Aubergine Roast with Quinoa / Baked Salmon with Dill Vegetables / Bean Salad / Black Bean Jambalaya / Blackened Herb Salmon with Watercress and Potato Salad / Cajun Pork Stew with Black Olives / Chicken with Mediterranean Lentils / Crunchy Veggie Stir-Fry / Kedgeree / Millet and Tofu Scramble / Rhubarb and Spinach Curry / Tabbouleh / Vegetable Pilaf

Note that ALL of the recipes are savoury main meals or starters – there are no puddings.  There are plenty of vegetarian and vegan dishes; and some exciting exotic-sounding recipes e.g. Jambalaya and Tabbouleh. This is a very interesting recipe book, written with a degree of irony and humour from a candida sufferer’s perspective, which takes the person through the stages of first diagnosis to how to adapt to their new lifestyle.  It is effectively a ‘survival guide’.  Visit the web site for more information.  It is also suitable for candida/ME sufferers, diabetics and coeliacs.  As a taster, here is one of the recipes for you to try (Black Bean Jambalaya).

The Cystitis and Overactive Bladder Foundation

Review Summer 2011

Download PDF

Comments

"Hi Rebecca.  I have to say, I feel fantastic!!! I'm now down to 9 stone 8lb (the lightest I have been in about 3 years!!!) I don't feel bloated anymore and can fit into clothes that I haven't worn for years (I've been trying on half of my wardrobe today and running round the house shouting, "I'm thin!!!!" LOL!!! It'll be so nice to go out with friends and pick a nice dress to wear rather than covering myself up in leggings and a long tunic top!!! I've even been shopping today and treated myself to some new underwear!!!). No headaches, upset tum or nasty cystitis type symptoms... finally after 4 years I've found a diet that is easy to follow and is yummy! I just wanted you to know I think you're amazing and I would recommend your book to anyone!!!"

Julie (Bromsgrove)


"Rebecca's book makes it so much easier for someone following an anti-candida diet to eat well and healthily."

Patrick Holford


"Congratulations on a fab book.  I am sure 'Candida Can Be Fun!' will be a best seller."

Anne O'Donnell, Coesceim Natural Therapy Centre (Ireland)


"This book is full of recipes which are suitable for those following an anti-Candida programme, as well as being gluten and dairy free. It is highly practical with plenty of tips and suggested brands to make shopping easier.  All the recipes come with photos making the book an enjoyable read.  Well done Rebecca!  A really useful resource for my clients following an anti-Candida protocol."

(Caroline Farrell dip ION, mBANT, mCNHC, Nutritional Therapist, Essential Nutrition)


"Hi Rebecca.  Web site looks great and your book has some delicious sounding recipes."

Bart Spices


“Congratulations on the launch of your web site, Rebecca!  We're delighted to be featured and happy to be able to offer a choice to Candida sufferers."

Clearspring Organic


“These are great, Rebecca, especially if you've more than one ingredient you have to avoid ...  Thank for sharing with us."

Gluten Free Guerillas


“I heard about you on Riverford’s Facebook page.  Thanks for sending the book so promptly.  I have to admit I did cry (again!) when I read it, as I have been on a rocky journey since my diagnosis last May with conflicting advice about what I can and can't eat.  Your book is the strictest yet, but I do love the pictures to choose what to eat and have really enjoyed the recipes so far.  Love the section telling you where to order ingredients.  That will come in handy.  Really pleased that you had this vision to do the cookbook.  I'll be spreading the word amongst fellow ‘Yeasties’.”

Diana (Southampton)


“My book arrived, thanks.  I ordered it after reading about it on the Goodness Direct web site blog and I am really pleased.  The Hungarian Aubergine with Polenta was not only really easy to make, but it tasted delicious.  Even my fussy hubby loved it!  I made the parsnip soup this afternoon, which we both enjoyed.  I have been off wheat for a long time now but, since cutting out dairy and potatoes a week and a half ago, I have already lost half a stone.  I am really impressed by the book.  I also ordered some Liquid Chromium (after reading it in your book), which should especially help hubby with his sugar cravings and his depression.  We have now also tried the Courgette and Butternut Squash Pasta. The only problem we had was that we wanted more … lots more.  Lol.  I used some corn tri colour pasta which I picked up at the Allergy + Gluten Free Show and the whole thing was just lovely. Big hit with fussy hubby again!!!  I am not 100% sure if I have Candida, although I do have just about every symptom listed. I have endometriosis, so have not been eating wheat for a long time now as it makes the endometriosis a lot worse anyway.  good thing for me). I will pop a comment on the gd website for you, I am really impressed by the book. Stuffed marrow for dinner tonight. I also ordered some chromium Yesterday which should especially help hubby with his really bad sugar cravings and depressionThis is all very tough, but I have the support or my hubby who told me that he would do the diet with me ;)  Oh and thanks to your book, my hubby is now a huge fan of polenta, which I would never have imagined him having before!”

Cheryl (Norwich)


"I can’t recommend Rebecca's book highly enough. It is witty and insightful and the photographs of the food are stunning. So if you would like to know more about the ins and outs of food intolerances (or even just about the ins and outs of Rebecca herself!) then this is the book for you."

Rachel (Bristol)


"I absolutely love this book. The recipes are easy to follow and delicious. I suffer from various allergies and not Candida but the meal suggestions in this book can benefit everybody as they are as healthy as they are enjoyable. It is written in a light hearted and friendly manner yet does not lose sight of how difficult it can be to find tasty recipes on a 'free from' menu. The author herself has suffered from intolerance to certain foods and you can rest assured that the suggestions are all tried and tested by somebody who really knows the profound effect that diet can have on our well being. I can't wait to try out more of these delicious creations on both friends and family. Beautifully photographed the pictures alone should tempt you. This is a book to keep in the kitchen and not on a shelf in the living room."

 

My first Amazon Book Feedback by MiowLeMix (South Gloucestershire)

Elsewhere online

Natural Connections Magazine (Ireland)

29th Edition (November 2012 - January 2013)

My thanks to Yvonne Fitzgerald for printing the article on my personal journey with Candida: here

More than Mummies

Rebecca Richardson - Candida and Food Intolerances: Could your diet be making you ill?

http://www.morethanmummies.com/2012/08/candida-and-food-intolerances-could-your-diet-be-making-you-ill/

Positive Health

Rebecca Richardson - Surviving Candida a Patient's Perspective

http://www.positivehealth.com/article/colon-health/surviving-candida-a-patient-s-perspective

Wilma Kirsten

Wilma Kirsten - Recommends "Candida Can Be Fun!"

http://www.wilmakirsten.com/candida/

Foods You Can

Foods You Can - Recommended Book of the Month - August 2011

http://www.foodsyoucan.co.uk/

Vitality Zone

Vitality Zone recommend "Candida Can Be Fun!" recipes

http://www.vitalityzone.co.uk/nutrition/recipes/228/kedegree

http://www.vitalityzone.co.uk/nutrition/recipes/227/courgette-and-butternut-squash-pasta

Ocado

6 recipes available at Ocado

http://www.ocado.com/webshop/recipecategory/candida-can-be-fun/10346

The Nutrition Guide

100 Ways to Conquer Candida

http://thenutritionguide.co.uk/blog.php?id=NTAyNA==

Goodness Direct

Brilliant new Candida Cookbook available:

http://blog.goodnessdirect.co.uk/2011/05/11/brilliant-new-candida-cookbook-available/

NetMums

One of the Top 20 Best Photographs in the Netmums Food Photography Competition 2011:

http://www.netmums.com/food/Vegetarian_paella_gluten_free.5995/

Proventus

Proventus’ feedback “Candida Can Be Fun!” at the Proventus blog:

http://proventuscharity.blogspot.com/2011/03/candida-can-be-fun.html

Cardboard Diet

Djinn’s feedback on “Candida Can Be Fun!” at The Cardboard Diet blog:

http://cardboard-diet.blogspot.com/2011/06/candida-can-be-fun-book-report.html

Mother Nature 4 Me

http://mothernature4me.com/2011/08/19/candida-diet-made-fun/